The short answer

  • A policy is written evidence of the parties’ agreement. Once the insurer has sealed it and delivered it to the policyholder, its internal data-entry system cannot simply override it; the party claiming “it was written wrongly” bears the burden of proof (Civil Procedure Law Art. 67(1)).
  • The legal outlet for a “data-entry error” is gross misunderstanding: it cannot be achieved by a notice stopping payment, but requires asking a court or arbitral body to rescind; and the right to rescind lasts only 90 days and at most five years, after which it is extinguished absolutely (Civil Code Arts. 147 and 152). For a policy issued in 1995 and performed for thirty years, there is little room on this route.
  • The insurer cannot terminate the contract unilaterally (Insurance Law Art. 15), and a refusal to pay must be given by written notice with reasons (Art. 24). Merely saying verbally that “payment is complete” is procedurally improper.
  • Its really strong move is not “rescission” but “interpretation”: arguing that both parties shared an understanding of the term different from its literal meaning (Contract Book General Provisions Interpretation Art. 1(2)). The bar is high, but if proven, the literal wording could be rewritten.

What happened

The following facts come from public reports and have not been checked against the case file.

In May 1995, Mr Chen in Shenzhen bought a commercial pension policy called the “Life Support Protection Plan”, with an annual premium of RMB 4,055 for thirty years. The original policy stated “from age 60, a monthly pension of RMB 500,000”. For thirty years he paid on time, the insurer deducted premiums normally, and it never questioned the term.

In May 2025 he turned 60 and received the first month’s RMB 500,000; when he applied for the second month, he was told the money had been paid in full and the contract had ended. The insurer explained that, given the limited hardware of the time, the agent had carelessly entered “monthly” instead of “lump sum”, and the employee could no longer be contacted.

The case was heard in public at the Bao’an District People’s Court in Shenzhen on 28 July 2026. The hearing lasted over five hours, with no mediation on the spot; the court said it would arrange mediation and announce judgment later (no judgment had been reported at the time of writing). In court the insurer submitted the original application form, a premium rate table and contemporaneous policies of other customers to show that “monthly” was a unilateral entry error.

Legally it has only three routes

In a sentence: rescission, interpretation, or claiming the obligation has been fully performed — it cannot change the contract by itself.

Article 15 of the Insurance Law: “Unless otherwise provided by this Law or agreed in the insurance contract, after an insurance contract is formed, the policyholder may terminate the contract, and the insurer may not.” The termination right is given to the policyholder alone; if the insurer believes there was an error, it has only three routes:

  • claim gross misunderstanding and seek rescission — Civil Code Arts. 147 and 152;
  • claim the wording doesn’t reflect the true intention and seek interpretation according to it — Civil Code Art. 142(1) and Contract Book General Provisions Interpretation Art. 1;
  • claim the obligation has been performed, i.e. that the claim was extinguished by a lump-sum payment of RMB 500,000 — which cannot stand alone and depends on interpretation or rescission.

The “gross misunderstanding” route: a very short window

In a sentence: 90 days, at most five years, then the right is gone — these are forfeiture periods, not limitation periods.

Article 147 of the Civil Code: “A party who performs a civil juristic act based on gross misunderstanding has the right to request the people’s court or an arbitral body to rescind it.”

Article 152 (excerpt): “The right of rescission is extinguished in any of the following circumstances: (1) … a party acting under gross misunderstanding fails to exercise the right within 90 days of knowing or when they should have known of the ground for rescission; … Where a party fails to exercise the right of rescission within five years of the civil juristic act, the right is extinguished.”

Article 19(1) of the Interpretation on the General Provisions of the Civil Code (excerpt): “Where a party … has a mistaken understanding of the nature of the act, or of the type, quality, price or quantity of the subject matter, and by ordinary understanding would not have made the corresponding declaration but for that mistake, the people’s court may find gross misunderstanding under Article 147.”

(My summary) Together, the insurer must prove it “would not have issued this policy but for the mistake”, must bring the claim to a court or arbitral body within 90 days of knowing or when it should have known — not by sending a notice stopping payment — and the right is absolutely extinguished five years after the act; that five-year period is fixed and cannot be suspended or interrupted.

(My summary) This policy was concluded in 1995, when the one-year period under Article 55 of the former Contract Law applied; under either version, time runs from when the party “knew or should have known”, and since the insurer itself drafted, sealed and kept the policy, its claim not to have known until 2025 is hard to sustain.

Why thirty years of premiums and the first pension payment work against it

Article 14 of the Insurance Law: “After an insurance contract is formed, the policyholder pays premiums as agreed and the insurer begins to bear insurance liability at the agreed time.”

(My summary) Collecting premiums under the policy’s terms and paying the first pension instalment are themselves confirmations of the terms, and count as “performance conduct” that Article 1 of the Contract Book Interpretation requires courts to consider. Conversely, underwriting review, premium reconciliation, annual follow-ups and retirement claim review all offered chances to correct it over thirty years, and no objection was ever raised — something the insurer will need to explain in court.

There is also a procedural point to press. Article 24 of the Insurance Law: “After making a determination under Article 23, where the matter is not within the insurance liability, the insurer shall within three days of the determination send the insured or beneficiary a notice refusing compensation or payment of the insured sum, stating the reasons.” Stopping payment without a written refusal or reasons is itself a procedural defect.

Its strongest move is “interpretation”, not “rescission”

In a sentence: arguing “this isn’t what I meant” is likely to lose; arguing “this isn’t what we both meant” is the real battleground.

Article 142(1) of the Civil Code (paraphrased): a declaration of intent made to another party is interpreted according to the words used, together with related terms, the nature and purpose of the act, custom and good faith.

Article 1 of the Contract Book General Provisions Interpretation (excerpt): “… In interpreting contract terms, the ordinary meaning of the words is the basis, with reference to the background of conclusion, the negotiation process, performance conduct and other factors to determine the meaning of disputed terms. Where there is evidence that the parties had a shared understanding of a term different from the ordinary meaning of its words, the people’s court will not support a party’s claim to interpret it according to the ordinary meaning. …”

Paragraph 2 is the principle often summarised as “a misstatement does not defeat the true intention”; the threshold is that the “other shared understanding” must be mutual, not one-sided (my summary). It is not enough for the insurer to say “we entered it wrongly”; it must prove that when the contract was concluded in 1995, both sides knew the money was a lump sum — possible evidence includes ticked boxes on the application form, the corresponding band in the rate table, and the usual wording of similar policies at the time. Public reports also mention that a similar policy bought by Mr Chen’s wife at the same time stated a lump-sum payment (as reported; accounts differ slightly); if true, that is exactly the material the insurer will rely on.

Another set of rules needs to be kept separate. Article 30 of the Insurance Law and Article 498 of the Civil Code both provide that where a standard term has two or more interpretations, the one unfavourable to the party that supplied it prevails. But that rule presupposes “two or more interpretations” (my summary), and the words “RMB 500,000 per month” are not themselves ambiguous.

If you already hold long-term insurance, what can you do now?

  • Keep the original policy, the application form and proof of every premium payment (bank statements, account statements) — long-term policies run twenty or thirty years, and these documents are the only proof of what the contract said.
  • If payment is refused or stopped, get it in writing first. Article 24 of the Insurance Law requires a written refusal with reasons; if you only get a verbal answer, ask for a written document and keep call recordings and WeChat records.
  • Watch the deadlines. The forfeiture period for rescission grounds is 90 days to five years; the limitation period for claiming insurance payments is separate — Article 26(2) of the Insurance Law sets five years for life insurance claims (annuity pension policies are usually classed as life insurance, my summary). Don’t miss deadlines through endless negotiation.
  • Before accepting a settlement, compare two figures: the lump-sum offer, and the present value of what you might obtain by insisting on the policy. Settlement agreements often include “full and final settlement, waiver of other claims, confidentiality” — once signed, it’s gone.
  • Pursue in parallel: a written objection to the insurer requesting a fresh determination; a complaint through the financial regulator’s consumer channel (12378); and litigation if negotiations fail.

Limitations

Provisions and judicial interpretations are from current texts; the facts and hearing progress come from public reports, not the case file, and reports differ on the insuring entity and related policy details. The case is still pending; this article does not predict the outcome and is not legal advice on the case.

Conclusion

The hard part was never the sentence on the policy, but whether a contract is still honoured thirty years later. Procedural gaps and record-keeping are costs the insurer must bear; ordinary people can do only two things: keep the paper and watch the deadlines. For disputes over insurance contracts or pension payments, contact Wang Xin: phone +86 186-0113-9509, WeChat wang223040.

Quick answers

Can a Chinese insurer unilaterally stop paying by saying the policy contained a typo?
No. Under Article 15 of the Insurance Law the insurer cannot unilaterally terminate the contract. It must seek rescission from a court or arbitral body, or prove a different shared understanding; refusals must be in writing with reasons (Article 24).
How long does an insurer have to rescind a contract for gross misunderstanding?
Under Article 152 of the Civil Code, 90 days from when it knew or should have known the ground, and in any case within 5 years of the act; these periods cannot be suspended or interrupted.
Does the contra proferentem rule help the policyholder?
Only if a standard term has two or more reasonable interpretations (Insurance Law Art. 30, Civil Code Art. 498). “RMB 500,000 per month” is not itself ambiguous, so the key issue is whether the insurer can prove a different shared understanding.

This is an English edition of Wang Xin’s original Chinese article, 「月领50万」的保单只付了一个月:保险公司说当年写错了,还能反悔吗?. It explains the law of the People’s Republic of China in general terms and is not legal advice for any particular case; outcomes depend on the specific facts and on how local authorities apply the rules.